Journal Entry #8, Reflections on SFUN’s E.E.

The first educative experience our class took part in was a lot of fun and I think SFUN really set the bar high for the rest of the groups, so well done 🙂 I think it was very clever of them to focus on the theme of play, as university students many of us don’t have a lot of time where we get to play and enjoy ourselves like we did when we were children. I consider play to be a very important component of learning and education as playing combines creativity, fun, learning, social interaction and so much more. I also appreciated how SFUN added a bit of twist to some of the games that many of us know, I think that by changing the games up a bit it gave many of us the opportunity to experience these games in a different way.

There were a series of questions that SFUN asked our class and I thought it would be worth answering some of them as part of my reflection: Do you play? When, or how often? Yes, I play a few times a week pretty much every week. I am really lucky that a large part of my job is play. I work as a recreation leader with kids between the ages of 2 and 14, so I have a lot of opportunities to play and a lot of opportunities to take part in different kinds of play. What is play to you? To me, there is a very broad category of activities and experiences that could be considered as play. Play can be structured, unstructured, planned, improvised, individual or as part of a group. I think that play requires creativity, exploration and of course fun! What is your favourite thing to do for fun? Why do you like it? For fun I like to do a variety of things including going for bike rides, kickboxing, cooking, hiking, and getting together with my friends. I enjoy these activities because I get a chance to go outdoors, explore, socialize and learn new skills. I also enjoy these activities as they give me a chance to relax and take some time to myself.

I really appreciated SFUN’s effort to facilitate play and a fun atmosphere in our class and I would certainly consider the experience to be educative. I look forward to the upcoming educative experiences and I am eager to see what’s in store in the upcoming weeks.

Leave a Reply

